This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
SPR Student Travel Awards
Share |

Each year, SPR provides funding to the regional chapters for travel to our international conference. There are three travel award categories. One award is oriented to master's and doctoral students who would be attending an SPR international conference for the first time. The second award is oriented to master's and doctoral students who have previously attended an SPR international conference. The third award is oriented to postdoctoral trainees and early career professionals (less than 3 years since degree). These awards are designed to support individuals who do not have institutional funding to attend the annual conference. The exact number of awards and the evaluation of quality and promise of each application will be determined by the SPR regional chapters.

Awards will be presented during the international SPR conference, upon verification of registration and SPR membership.

To be eligible, the student must be:

  1. The first author on a paper or poster,
  2. A student, post-doctoral fellow or early career professional (according to SPR membership status) at the time of the conference,
  3. In good standing with SPR (i.e., SPR membership is current) and
  4. Not receiving institutional financial support for attending the SPR Meeting

Applicants must demonstrate economic need & professional promise. They must also present an accepted paper or poster of interest at the Meeting.


For the announcement of travel awards for the forthcoming conference please refer to the respective Chapter pages.


Application deadline was February 15, 2020.



Successful applicants will be notified by March 15, 2020.


Award Winners 2019

Maayan Abargil

SPR European Chapter

Anna Katharina Georg

SPR European Chapter

Johann Roland Kleinbub

SPR European Chapter

João Tiago T. Oliveira

SPR European Chapter


Carl-Johan Uckelstam 

 SPR European Chapter


Friederike Winter

SPR European Chapter


Nina Immel

SPR Latin America Chapter


Alice Coyne

SPR North America Chapter


Brittany R. King 

SPR North America Chapter


Nili Solomonov

SPR North America Chapter

Award Winners 2018

Angela Ferreira
SPR European Chapter

Hadar Fisher
SPR European Chapter

Natalia Inés Putrino
SPR Latin America Chapter

Javiera Duarte
SPR Latin America Chapter

Kaitlin Foley
SPR North America Chapter

Zachary D Cohen
SPR North America Chapter


Award Winners 2017

Johann Kleinbub
SPR European Chapter

Diego San Martin
SPR Latin America Chapter

Lívia Fração Sanchez
SPR European Chapter

Nicolle Alamo
SPR Latin America Chapter

Cecilia de la Cerda
SPR Latin America Chapter

Yogev Kivity   
SPR North America Chapter 


Award Winners 2016


Nicholas Suarez, Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Chili
Latin America Chapter
Structured Discussion: Depression and Culture.

Mengfei Xu, Beijing Normal University
Poster presentation: Emotional Experiences of Novice Counselors in Analogue Counseling

Katie Aafjes-van Doorn, Access Institute San Francisco
North America Chapter
Paper presentation: Title: Client Affective Processes within Initial Experiential Dynamic Therapy Sessions.


Award Winners 2015

1st Place

Juan Martin Gomez Penedo*
University or research center Universidad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires Argentina

SPR Latin American
Interpersonal Problems,Therapist Technique and Early Outcome in Cognitive-Integrative Psychotherapy

*This student already received the international student award last year, since there is no mention to this type of situation in the rules of the award, his application was accepted.


2nd Place

Paulina Gertrudis Wyss
University or research center UADE, Buenos Aires, Argentina

SPR Latin America
Assessment of Outcomes in Psychotherapy and Common Factors: Application of the adapted version of the Remoralization Scale (Vissers et al, 2010) to assess the discriminant validity between general and clinical population, and to evaluate change in treatment outcomes.

3rd Place

Cibele Carvalho
University or research center Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos - UNISINOS, Brazil
SPR Latin America
Changes assessment in child psychoanalytic psychotherapy


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal