Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
SPR International Student Travel Award
Share |

There are two travel award categories. One award oriented to master students and doctoral students from all countries of the world. The second award is oriented to post docs and early career (less than 3 years since degree) from all countries of the world. These awards are specially targeted to students/early career without institutional funding to attend the SPR meeting. (These awards are independent from SPR chapter awards).

There will be 10 awards of $1000 each presented to masters and doctoral students, and 4 awards of $1000 each presented to post-doc and early career graduates. All awards include free conference registration. Awards will be presented during the 2019 SPR conference, upon verification of registration and SPR membership.

To be eligible, the student must be:

  1. The first author on a paper or poster,
  2. A student (according to SPR membership status) at the time of the conference,
  3. In good standing with SPR (i.e., SPR membership is current) and
  4. Not receiving institutional financial support for attending the SPR Meeting

Applicants must demonstrate economic need & professional promise. They must also present an accepted paper or poster of interest in the Meeting and provide a letter of recommendation from the student´s mentor (former mentor).



Application deadline was March 10th, 2019.


Award Committee

Martin Grosse Holtforth - Chair
Malena Braun (Latin America)
Shelley McMain (North America)
Felicitas Rost (United Kingdom)
Svenja Taubner (Europe)


The Awards Committee will evaluate each proposal along the following criteria:

a) Importance or significance of the topic to the field
b) Originality of the idea
c) Clarity and quality of the methodology.
d) Impact of the results and potential clinical application

Outcome Criteria: Presentation, as first author, of a paper in panel, brief paper
Mentor: The students mentor sends a letter of recommendation during application.


Successful applicants will be notified in 2019.


Award Winners 2018

Angela Ferreira
SPR European Chapter

Hadar Fisher
SPR European Chapter

Natalia Inés Putrino
SPR Latin America Chapter

Javiera Duarte
SPR Latin America Chapter

Kaitlin Foley
SPR North America Chapter

Zachary D Cohen
SPR North America Chapter


Award Winners 2017

Johann Kleinbub
SPR European Chapter

Diego San Martin
SPR Latin America Chapter

Lívia Fração Sanchez
SPR European Chapter

Nicolle Alamo
SPR Latin America Chapter

Cecilia de la Cerda
SPR Latin America Chapter

Yogev Kivity   
SPR North America Chapter 


Award Winners 2016


Nicholas Suarez, Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Chili
Latin America Chapter
Structured Discussion: Depression and Culture.

Mengfei Xu, Beijing Normal University
Poster presentation: Emotional Experiences of Novice Counselors in Analogue Counseling

Katie Aafjes-van Doorn, Access Institute San Francisco
North America Chapter
Paper presentation: Title: Client Affective Processes within Initial Experiential Dynamic Therapy Sessions.


Award Winners 2015

1st Place

Juan Martin Gomez Penedo*
University or research center Universidad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires Argentina

SPR Latin American
Interpersonal Problems,Therapist Technique and Early Outcome in Cognitive-Integrative Psychotherapy

*This student already received the international student award last year, since there is no mention to this type of situation in the rules of the award, his application was accepted.


2nd Place

Paulina Gertrudis Wyss
University or research center UADE, Buenos Aires, Argentina

SPR Latin America
Assessment of Outcomes in Psychotherapy and Common Factors: Application of the adapted version of the Remoralization Scale (Vissers et al, 2010) to assess the discriminant validity between general and clinical population, and to evaluate change in treatment outcomes.

3rd Place

Cibele Carvalho
University or research center Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos - UNISINOS, Brazil
SPR Latin America
Changes assessment in child psychoanalytic psychotherapy


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal